Barcelona vs Real Sociedad, La Liga: Match Thread, Live Updates

FULL-TIME, Barcelona 2-0 Real Sociedad: Barça hold on to a key victory and reclaim second spot with 3 games to go. La Real made it difficult all night, but the Catalans found a way to win and keep a clean sheet against one of the toughest teams in the league. Well done, boys!

90+3’ GOAL!!! Barcelona 2-0 Real Sociedad (Raphinha pen): BARÇA WIN IT!!! Raphinha steps up and scores from the spot to confirm Barça’s victory!

90’+2’ PENALTY TO BARCELONA! The home team is given a spot kick after a VAR review shows a handball by Álvaro Odriozola as he blocks Raphinha’s free-kick with his left arm and the referee points to the spot.

SECOND HALF KICKOFF! Barcelona 1-0 Real Sociedad: Back underway in Montjuïc!

HALFTIME, Barcelona 1-0 Real Sociedad: Barça lead at the break after a hard-fought first half with not a lot of chances and some strong defending for both sides, but Yamal’s goal gives the Catalans the edge ahead of the second half.

40’ GOAL!!! Barcelona 1-0 Real Sociedad (Yamal): BARÇA TAKE THE LEAD!!! A great pass by Robert Lewandowski releases Ilkay Gündogan through the middle and the German squares it to Lamine Yamal, who curls a beauty into the bottom corner to put the home team in front!

22’ GOAL DISALLOWED: Sheraldo Becker has the ball in the back of the net for Real Sociedad, but the goal is ruled out for offside.

KICKOFF! Barcelona 0-0 Real Sociedad: And we’re underway in Montjuïc!

WELCOME TO THE MONTJUÏC OLYMPIC STADIUM!!! The beautiful temporary home of the world’s greatest football club in the capital of Catalonia is the site of a huge La Liga clash between visitors Real Sociedad and Barcelona, who come into this one desperate for three points to reclaim second place in the table. But it won’t be easy against La Real, who are talented, tough, well-coached and also needing a result themselves in their fight for Europe. This should be fun, and you’re welcome to join us to follow and comment all the action. Vamos!

(Note: the comments will be opened only when the team news come out, because our commenter people love commenting and sometimes there are too many comments in the comments section)

LINEUPS

BARCELONA

Starting XI: Ter Stegen; Kounde, Cubarsí, Iñigo, Cancelo; Gündogan, Christensen, Pedri; Yamal, Lewandowski, Raphinha (4-3-3)

Substitutes: Peña (GK), Kochen (GK), Araujo, Alonso, Fort, Roberto, Romeu, Fermín, Félix, Ferran, Roque

REAL SOCIEDAD

Starting XI: Remiro; Traoré, Elustondo, Le Normand, Pacheco; Aramburu, Turrientes, Merino, Méndez; Becker, Oyarzabal (4-4-2)

Substitutes: Marrero (GK), Odriozola, Gonzále, Tierney, Martín, Rupérez, Zakharyan, Kubo, Olasagasti, Barrenetxea, Sadiq, Silva

MATCH INFO

Competition/Round: 2023-24 La Liga, Matchday 35

Date/Time: Monday, May 13, 2024, 9pm CET (Barcelona), 8pm BST/WAT (UK & Nigeria), 3pm ET, 12pm PT (USA), 12.30am IST (India, Tuesday)

Venue: Estadi Olímpic Lluís Companys, Montjuïc, Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain

Referee: Guillermo Cuadra Fernández

VAR: Mario Melero López

HOW TO WATCH

On TV: ESPN Deportes (USA), Premier Sports 1 (UK), SuperSport (Nigeria), Movistar (Spain), TSN 3 (Canada), others

Online: ESPN+ (USA), LaLigaTV (UK), Movistar+ (Spain), others

Matchday Thread Rules

We don’t have a lot of rules here, but there are a few things to keep in mind when joining our matchday threads:

Even if the referee sucks or we lose the game, watch the swearing. It’s just unnecessary. Also, don’t discuss illegal streaming links. Those who do it will be warned, and those who post links will be instantly banned. Finally, be nice to each other. This is a Barcelona community and we don’t need to offend one another.

Have fun with the game! Forever and ever, no matter the competition, VISCA EL BARÇA!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Verified by MonsterInsights