NASCAR Xfinity qualifying today: See the starting lineup for The Loop 110 at Chicago Street Course

The NASCAR Cup Series will take to the streets of Chicago on Sunday, but its not the only series ready for a second go around in the Windy City.

First up is the Xfinity Series, which is set for The Loop 110 on Saturday afternoon. The race is set to air on NBC.

But before that, Xfinity qualifying got underway Saturday morning. Shane van Gisbergen, winner of last year’s inaugural Cup Series race at the track, took the pole with a lap time of 1:29.448. Kyle Larson was just 0.013 seconds behind and will start second with Connor Mosack, Sam Mayer and John Hunter Nemechek rounding out the top five times.

A total of 43 cars attempted to qualify for the 38-car field with Ty Dillon, Thomas Annunziata, Brad Perez, Alon Day and Kenko Miura failing to earn entry into the race. Several series favorites will drop to the rear after engine changes and practice crashes including Parker Kligerman, Nemechek and Justin Allgaier.

Cole Custer is the reigning winner of the event. Per usual, a few Cup Series regulars will participate in Saturday’s Xfinity race including Ty Gibbs, Larson, Joey Logano and Daniel Suarez.

Here’s the starting lineup for The Loop 110 after Saturday’s qualifying:

OWN THE BOOK ON DAYTONA!Celebrate the fast-paced history of the Daytona 500 with this new book

NASCAR Xfinity qualifying results

Shane van Gisbergen, No. 97 Chevrolet Kyle Larson, No. 17 Chevrolet Connor Mosack, No. 88 Chevrolet Ty Gibbs, No. 19 Toyota Sam Mayer, No. 1 Chevrolet John Hunter Nemechek, No. 20 Toyota (will drop to rear, engine change) Parker Kligerman, No. 48 Chevrolet (will drop to rear, engine change) Jesse Love, No. 2 Chevrolet Chandler Smith, No. 81 Chevrolet Cole Custer, No. 00 Ford AJ Allmendinger, No. 16 Chevrolet Parker Retzlaff, No. 31 Chevrolet Austin Hill, No. 21 Chevrolet Sammy Smith, No. 8 Chevrolet Joey Logano, No. 15 Ford Alex Labbe, No. 07 Chevrolet Preston Pardus, No. 50 Chevrolet Anthony Alfredo, No. 5 Chevrolet Austin Green, No. 32 Chevrolet Riley Herbst, No. 98 Ford Leland Honeyman, No. 42 Chevrolet Ryan Sieg, No. 39 Ford Jeb Burton, No. 27 Chevrolet Josh Bilicki, No. 92 Chevrolet Brennan Poole, No. 44 Chevrolet Matt DiBenedetto, No. 38 Ford Ryan Ellis, No. 43 Chevrolet Kyle Weatherman, No. 91 Chevrolet Blaine Perkins, No. 29 Ford Josh Williams, No. 11 Chevrolet Daniel Suarez, No. 36 Chevrolet Brandon Jones, No. 9 Chevrolet Andre Castro, No. 14 Chevrolet Jeremy Clements, No. 51 Chevrolet Kyle Sieg, No. 28 Ford (did not run qualifying lap Justin Allgaier, No. 7 Chevrolet (did not run qualifying lap) Sheldon Creed, No. 18 Toyota (did not run qualifying lap) Sage Karam, No. 26 Toyota (did not run qualifying lap)

Did not qualify

Leave a Reply

Verified by MonsterInsights